Paycheck Calculator South Carolina - SC

Income Information

Federal Withholding

State Withholding


Additional Information


South Carolina - SC Paycheck Calculator: Hourly and Salary

South Carolina, also referred to as the Palmetto State, is a state located in the southeastern region of the United States famous for its shoreline of marsh-like Sea Islands and subtropical beaches. With a rich history, favorable weather, diverse culture, slower way of life, and natural beauty, South Carolina offers tons of opportunities and attractions to enjoy.

The Palmetto State shares its borders with North Carolina on the north, with the Atlantic Ocean on the southeast, and with Georgia on the southwest. Moreover, the state is 23rd most populous, and the 40th most extensive among 50 states of U.S. Columbia is the state's Capital. At the same time, Charleston is the largest city, and Greenville is the largest metro of South Carolina.

Have you got a fantastic job offer or business idea to implement in South Carolina? Or planning to start your new life in this fantastic State? No matter what your reasons for relocation are, our "South Carolina" Guide will help you in either way. Our Finance and travel experts have joined hand to bring you a one-of-its-kind guide that would help you in the following topics:

  • The thing you must know before moving to South Carolina
  • South Carolina Payroll Facts
  • How to Calculate Paycheck in South Carolina? – This section would benefit both employers and employees in the following ways:
    • Help job seekers to compare several job offers in terms of take-home pay and choose the best one.
    • Help entrepreneurs to compare different business opportunities in terms of employment cost.
    • Help employees of South Carolina to calculate their upcoming Paycheck amount for verifying and budgeting.
    • Help employers in South Carolina to calculate Paycheck amounts for multiple employees instantly using our South Carolina Paycheck Calculator.
  • Federal and South Carolina Payroll Laws to ensure your paycheck complies with the law.
  • Frequently Asked Questions

We hope these topics would answer most of your queries and prevent you from regretting your decision later. So let's get started!


Things you must know before moving to South Carolina

Before you grab and pack your stuff for moving to South Carolina, there are several factors that you should consider about the Palmetto State:

Cost of Living

Living in South Carolina is affordable overall. The housing cost is significantly lower than the national average, while health and utilities are relatively expensive. The cost of living index for SC is 88.5 points, whereas the national index is 100 points.

Cost of Housing

Owning and renting a house in South Carolina is quite affordable. The median home value in South Carolina is $170,100 compared to a national average of around $231,200. Moreover, the median rent price in the state for a single bedroom is $780, and for a double bedroom is $936. However, cost varies depending on the city and location. The cheapest places to live in South Carolina include Dillon, Fountain Inn, Bennettsville, and Mauldin.

Education

Unfortunately, statistics for quality education in South Carolina aren't satisfying. The state has the 4th worst eighth-grade reading scores in the nation and ranks at 42nd position among 50 states for overall education.

Some of the highly respected public school districts and colleges in South Carolina include The Citadel (Charleston), Coker College (Hartsville), University of South Carolina – Aiken (Aiken), Fort Mill School District (Fort Mill), Lexington-Richland School District No. 5 (Irmo) and Spartanburg County School District No. 6 (Roebuck).

Weather

The State experiences a humid subtropical climate with hot summers and mild winters. Moreover, the state also hits by natural disasters like tornados during spring as well as thunderstorms and Tropical cyclones during summer months.

Job and Business Opportunities

Due to the extensive coastline and favorable weather, the tourism and hospitality industries rule South Carolina. These industries bring in many jobs to the coastal region every year. Moreover, industries like Aerospace, Agribusiness, Automotive, Advanced Manufacturing, and Advanced Materials are also flourishing and producing truckloads of opportunities for entrepreneurs and job seekers.

Outdoor Activities

South Carolina provides endless ways to explore and enjoy the natural outdoor majesties that awaits, including numerous beaches, swimming holes, creeks, lakes, and much more. The fun doesn't end here! You can enjoy delicious Food & Drink at DeSano Pizza Bakery and Captain George's Seafood Restaurant, OR spend quality time in Games & Entertainment Centers like Escape Plan Columbia and Craft Axe Throwing (Greenville and Columbia), Nature & Parks like The Center for Birds of Prey and Falls Park on the Reedy, Museums like Myrtle Beach Pinball Museum, Pat Conroy Literary Center, OR explore Sights & Landmarks like Liberty Bridge and Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist.

The State also has numerous Nightlife and Cultural & Theme Tour Opportunities, Water & Amusement Parks, and Spas & Wellness to make your holidays and vacation memorable.


Pros and Cons

While there are a lot of reasons to fall in love with South Carolina, there are cons of the state too. Here are a few of them:

Pros:
  • Stunning natural beauty
  • Favorable Weather
  • Southern hospitality
  • Delicious Food
  • High-quality healthcare
  • The slow pace of life
  • Rich History
  • Endless Outdoor Opportunities
  • Affordable Housing
Cons:
  • Higher crime rate
  • Hurricanes
  • Low-Quality Education

South Carolina Payroll Facts

  • Employers of South Carolina withhold Federal Income Tax from their employee's paycheck according to seven tax brackets dependent on income level and filing status. The rate ranges between 10% and 37%.
  • SC Employers also withhold FICA Taxes from their employee's paycheck, which consist of 6.2% on taxable wages up to $137,700 as Social Security Tax and 1.45% on taxable wage up to $200,000 as Medicare. Moreover, employers also have to pay an equal amount of FICA taxes for each of their employees. However, if an employee's annual wage exceeds $200,000 wage base, they are charged with additional Medicare surtax of 0.9%.
  • South Carolina's Employers pay FUTA tax at the rate of 6% of the first $7,000 of each employee's taxable income each year. Moreover, they also pay State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) tax at the rate ranging between 0.06% and 5.46%, on the first $14,000 in wages paid to each employee each year, while new employers pay a flat rate of 0.55%. However, if the pay SUI tax in full and on time, they get a tax credit of 90% from the FUTA tax.
  • Employees of South Carolina also pay State Income Tax, which is charged at the rates ranging from 0% to 7%, distributed in six tax brackets dependent on income level, regardless of filing status. Moreover, Supplemental wages and bonuses can be charged at a rate of 7%.
  • No city or county in South Carolina levies Local Income Tax.
  • South Carolina doesn't have an income tax reciprocal agreement with any state. Therefore, non-residents working in South Carolina have to pay taxes In SC.
  • South Carolina doesn't regulate Minimum Wages. So the Federal Minimum Wage rate of $7.25 for non-exempted employees is applied. Moreover, Tipped employees are paid a cash minimum wage rate of $2.13, with a maximum tip credit of $5.12.
  • SC State doesn't have Overtime law, so employees are paid overtime according to FLSA law, at the rate of 1 and half of their regular hourly rate for each excess hour they work after 40 hours in a workweek.
  • The livable wage in South Carolina for a couple (on working) with two children is $25.61, whereas for a single adult is $11.76.,
  • The Average Salary in South Carolina is $54,960, while the national average is $58,234.
  • The Median Household income in South Carolina is $51,015, according to United States Census Bureau.

How to Calculate Paycheck in South Carolina?

As we are done with relocation to South Carolina and its payroll facts, now it's time to calculate paycheck.


Step 1 - Calculating Gross Pay:

The very first step to calculating the paycheck amount is to determine Gross Pay. It is a wage that an employee earned in the last pay period.


Gross Pay is calculated differently for both hourly and salary-based employees, which is discussed in detail as follow:


Gross Pay for Hourly Employee

Hourly Employees are paid at a mutually agreed pay rate for each hour they work in a pay period. Usually, Pay periods for Hourly employees are Hourly, Daily, Weekly, and Bi-Weekly. However, the Federal, State, and Local Wage law requires the employers to set the pay rate equals to or more than the defined Minimum Wage Law for the non-exempted employees.

Hourly employees are also entitled to receive overtime, for each excess hour worked after regular hours in a workday or a workweek. Remember, like Minimum wage, the employers are also required to follow Overtime wage law provided by the federal, state, and local authorities.


Note: All the relevant laws are discussed in detail ahead.

To calculate gross wage for an hourly employee:

  1. Calculate total hours worked in a Pay Period using the data from Timesheet or Timecard.
  2. Multiply Total Hours worked with the Hourly Rate (Pay Rate).
  3. Add overtime hours (if any) worked by the employee.

Quick Tip: You can also use our Timecard with overtime Calculator to calculate Gross Wage for Hourly Employee instantly.

Gross Pay for Salaried Employee

Salaried Employees are paid at the flat amount rather than on an hourly basis. The amount is usually mutually agreed as an Annual Salary, which is then paid in Semi-monthly or Monthly Pay periods.

Salaried employees are mostly exempted from overtime law. However, their salaries must be according to Federal and State Minimum Wage law.

To calculate Gross Pay for Salaried Employees:

  • Divide the "employee's salary" by "number of pay periods." For example: If the employee's annual salary is $25000 and is paid on a semi-monthly pay period, then the employee's Gross Pay would be: $25000 / 24 = $1042.

Don't forget that Supplemental Wages like Bonuses, commissions, tips, paid leaves, fringe benefits, or other taxable wages earned by the employee must be added into the Gross wages.


Step 2 – Subtracting Pre-Tax Deductions (If Any):

Once you are done with Gross Wages, it's time to subtract any Pre-Tax deductions from the gross wage to get taxable wages as Pre-tax deductions are not taxable for federal payroll taxes.

Pre-tax deductions are offered to the employees as benefits like fringe benefits, HSA plans, etc., to reduce their taxable income, hence, increasing their take-home pay amount. Remember, not all benefits are exempted from taxes, so choose the pre-tax deductions wisely.

Some of the common pre-tax deductible benefits are:

  • FSA - Flexible Spending Accounts
  • HSA - Health Savings Accounts
  • Retirement savings accounts like a traditional 401(k)
  • Some of the Fringe Benefits
  • health insurance
  • accident insurance
  • dental and vision insurance
  • Commuter Benefits
  • Short-Term Disability

Note: Pre-Tax deduction rate, contribution limits, special tax withholding rules change from year to year, according to inflation and costs of living by the federal government. Therefore, you must keep yourself updated with all rates before making any deductions.

Many Taxpayers find it hard to itemize their deductions to calculate taxable wages, for which they go for standard deductions, that varies according to the filing status, as shown in the table below:

All Filers(Updated Dec 2019)
Filing Status Standard Deduction Amount
Single Filers $12,200
Married, Filing Jointly $24,400
Married, Filing Separately $12,200
Head of Household $18,350

Step 3 – Calculate and Subtract Federal Taxes:

Once you have determined the taxable wages, it's time to deduct Federal Income taxes for the Taxable wages.

IRS requires the employers to withhold federal income tax from the employee's paycheck, according to the details provided by the employee on Form W-4. The employee fills this form at the start of the job. The form includes all the necessary information, including income, number of allowances to claim, number of dependents, amount of additional taxes to deduct, and much more.

The employees are required to keep their Form W-4 up to date with all their current information, especially marriage, divorce, or child's birth.


The federal income tax is charged according to the tax brackets in which the taxpayer's income falls. The latest income tax brackets and rates are as follow:

Single Filers
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $9,700 10%
$9,700 - $39,475 12%
$39,475 - $84,200 22%
$84,200 - $160,725 24%
$160,725 - $204,100 32%
$204,100 - $510,300 35%
$510,300+ 37%

Married, Filing Jointly
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $19,400 10%
$19,400 - $78,950 12%
$78,950 - $168,400 22%
$168,400 - $321,450 24%
$321,450 - $408,200 32%
$408,200 - $612,350 35%
$612,350+ 37%

Married, Filing Separately
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $9,700 10%
$9,700 - $39,475 12%
$39,475 - $84,200 22%
$84,200 - $160,725 24%
$160,725 - $204,100 32%
$204,100 - $306,175 35%
$306,175+ 37%

Head of Household
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $13,850 10%
$13,850 - $52,850 12%
$52,850 - $84,200 22%
$84,200 - $160,700 24%
$160,700 - $204,100 32%
$204,100 - $510,300 35%
$510,300+ 37%

Step 4 – Deduct FICA Taxes:

Besides, Federal Income Tax, the IRS also requires the employer to withhold FICA tax (15.3%) for the employee's paycheck and also requires the employer to pay an equal amount for each employee.


Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) Taxes comprises of two types of taxes which are as follow:


  1. Social Security:

A total of 12.4% of social security tax is charged from which 6.2% is withheld from the employee's gross, and the employer pays the matching 6.2%. However, Social Security is only charged on the maximum taxable earnings of $137,700 for 2020.


  1. Medicare:

A total of 2.9% of Medicare is charged, from which 1.45% is withheld from the employee's gross, and the employer pays the matching 1.45%. Unlike Social Security, there is no maximum table earning limit for this tax. However, an additional surtax of 0.9% is charged as Additional Medicare Surtax on the employees having income over the specified level along with filing status, which is as follow:

Income Over Filing Status
$250,000 Married Filing Jointly
$125,000 Married Filing Separately
$200,000 Single

Note: Employers are not required to pay an equal amount for Additional Medicare Surtax.

Step 5 – Payment of FUTA Taxes

IRS requires the employer to pay another tax, known as The Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) Tax. This tax is paid at the rate of 6% on the first $7000 earned by each employee in a year. However, the IRS doesn't require the employees to contribute to it.

The employers who pay State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) tax in full and on time are given relieving FUTA tax credit of up to 5.4%, which saves a whopping 90% from FUTA Tax.


Step 6 – Subtract Post-Tax Deductions (If any):

Post-tax deductions (after-tax deductions) is an amount the employer takes out from the employee's paycheck after taxes. Therefore, it does not affect taxable wages and the amount of tax payable.

Here are some of the types of post-tax deductions that employee may voluntarily choose:

  • Charitable contributions
  • Disability insurance
  • Garnishments
  • Specific Retirement Plans like Roth 401(k)
  • Life Insurance

Step 7 – Withhold State Payroll Taxes:

As you are done with Federal Payroll Taxes, now it's time to discuss State Payroll Taxes. The South Carolina State charges State Income Tax on the employees. Moreover, employers are required to pay State Unemployment Insurance Tax.


State Income Tax:

South Carolina follows a progressive income tax system, having six tax brackets dependent on income level and regardless of filing status and a rate ranging from 0.00% to 7.00%. Moreover, Supplemental Wages and Bonuses can be charged at a flat rate of 7.00%.

The employer withholds this tax from the employee's paycheck according to the details provided by the employee in the Form W-4. This form is filled by the employee while joining the job. Employees are required to keep the form updated with any significant life events like marriage, child's birth, and divorce.

All Filers
South Carolina Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $3,030 0.00%
$3,030 - $6,060 3.00%
$6,060 - $9,090 4.00%
$9,090 - $12,120 5.00%
$12,120 - $15,160 6.00%
$15,160+ 7.00%

State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Tax

The State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Tax is an employer-funded program that provides temporary income to unemployed workers who have lost their job without fault of their own.

The state doesn't charge in South Carolina State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax on employers. However, it does require the employers to pay South Carolina State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) tax, at the rate ranging from 0.06% to 5.46% on a first $14,000 earned in wages by each employee in a year. However, new employers are given relief as they only have to pay a flat rate of 0.55%.


Note: SUI Rates for South Carolina Employers change with time. Therefore, you are required to keep a check on notices to make sure you have paid the right amount.

Step 8 – Withhold Local Payroll Taxes:

No city or county in South Carolina levies Local Income Tax


Step 9 – Calculate Pay Check:

Now that you are done with all payroll taxes and calculated the net take-home pay of an employee, it's time to cut the paycheck. Moreover, you, as an employer, must pay your portion of FICA tax along with FUTA and SUI tax in full and on time regularly.


Federal and South Carolina Payroll Laws

  • South Carolina doesn't have any law for Pay Frequency or Paydays.
  • South Carolina doesn't have its Overtime or Minimum wage law, so Federal Law applies. The Federal Law requires the employers to pay at least the Federal Minimum wage rate of $7.25 to their employee, unless or otherwise exempted. Moreover, FLSA also requires the employers to pay overtime to their non-exempted employees, at the rate of one and half of their regular hourly rate, for each excess hours worked after 40 hours in a workweek. The employees exempted from overtime, and minimum wage law includes:
    • Tipped Employees: They can be paid a cash minimum wage rate of $2.13, with a maximum tip credit of $5.12.
    • Youth Employees: They can be paid a minimum wage rate of $4.25.
    • Professional, Executive and Administrative employees
    • Particular Amusement or recreational establishment employees
    • Certain organized camp employees
    • Individual employees of Religious or non-profit educational conference center
    • Individual employees working in fishing and agriculture
    • Baby sitter, domestic service employees, and a few more.
  • Both state and federal law doesn't require employers to provide meals and lunch breaks to their employees. However, if the employers voluntarily offer, then they must be PAID if for 20 or fewer minutes, and UNPAID if for 30 or more minutes.
  • Employers in South Carolina are not entitled to provide either paid or unpaid vacation benefits, sick leave benefits, holiday leaves, Jury Duty Leave, voting leaves, or bereavement leaves.

FAQs

Answer: Following taxes are taken out of employee's paycheck in South Carolina:

  • Federal Income Tax: This tax is withheld by the employer, at the rate ranging between 0% and 37%, distributed in seven tax brackets depending on income level and filing status.
  • FICA – Social Security: This tax is withheld by employers, at the rate of 6.2% of each employee's taxable wages up to $137,700.
  • FICA – Medicare: This tax is withheld by the employer at the rate of 1.45% of each employee's taxable wages up to $200,000 in a given calendar year. Moreover, if the annual income crosses the $200,000 threshold, then employees are charged an Additional surtax of 0.9%.
  • State Income Tax: This tax is withheld by the employer, at the rate ranging between 0% and 7%, distributed into six tax brackets, depending only on Income level, regardless of filing status.

Answer: Following are the Payroll taxes that an employer and employee pay in South Carolina:


  • Federal Income Tax: The employee fund this tax at the rate ranging between 0% and 37%, distributed in seven tax brackets depending on income level and filing status.
  • FICA – Social Security: This tax is paid by both employers and employees, where employees pay the rate of 6.2% of each their taxable wages up to $137,700. In contrast, equal half for each employee is funded by the employer.
  • FICA – Medicare: This tax is paid by both employees and employers, where employee pay rate of 1.45% of their taxable wages up to $200,000 in a given calendar year. In contrast, equal half for each employee is funded by the employer. However, if the annual income crosses the $200,000 threshold, then only employees are charged an Additional surtax of 0.9%.
  • State Income Tax: This tax is paid by employees at the rate ranging between 0% and 7%, distributed into six tax brackets, depending only on Income level, regardless of filing status.
  • FUTA Tax: Only employers pay this tax at the rate of 6% of the first $7,000 of each employee's taxable income each year.
  • State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Tax: Only employers pay this tax at the rate ranging between 0.06% and 5.46%, on the first $14,000 in wages paid to each employee each year, while new employers pay a flat rate of 0.55%. However, if the pay SUI tax in full and on time, they get a tax credit of 90% from the FUTA tax.

Answer: South Carolina follows the progressive income tax system, having six tax brackets dependent on income level, but regardless of filing status. The rates are as follow:

  • $0 to $3,030 of taxable wage is charged with 0% of income tax
  • $3,030 to $6,060 of taxable wage is charged with 3.0%
  • $6,060 to $9,090 of taxable wage is charged with 4.0%
  • $9,090 - $12,120 of taxable wage is charged with 5.0%
  • $12,120 - $15,160 of taxable wage is charged with 6.0%
  • $15,160 and above of taxable wage is charged with 7.0%

Answer: South Carolina doesn't regulate Minimum Wages. So the Federal Minimum Wage rate of $7.25 is applied for employees unless or otherwise exempted. Moreover, Tipped employees are paid a cash minimum wage rate of $2.13, with a maximum tip credit of $5.12.

Other States Calcutors