Paycheck Calculator Georgia - GA

Income Information

Federal Withholding

State Withholding


Additional Information


Georgia - GA Paycheck Calculator: Hourly and Salary

Georgia, a southeastern U.S. state and a home to Twenty Fortune 500 companies like Coca Cola and Home Depot. This state's terrain spans mountains, coastal beaches, and farmlands that produce one of the sweetest onions and peaches in the country.

Cities like Atlanta and Savannah of Georgia are among the most desired places to live in this state as they have excellent schools of higher educations, loads of job opportunities, incredible travel destinations, and not so high cost of living.

The state with diverse culture and a humid subtropical climate have many reasons to settle in, including reasonable housing cost, bearable winters, fair taxes, inexpensive food, and the growing job market.

According to the data from the U.S. Census, 90 thousand plus people move to Atlanta alone, making it on the first position for "Top Moving Destinations in the U.S." from the past six years. This state offers some of the fastest-growing job fields like nursing, medical assistance, web development, and public transportation.

With an Unemployment rate of just 4.4% and a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, this state also offers some of the highest paying jobs in medical and computer science fields.

So, after reading all the earlier mentioned perks, you must have made up your mind about moving here, and start your new job or business!

Yes?

That great! Now, the first thing you need to do is to determine your paycheck amount as an employee or amount you need to pay as an employer. Wherefore, we have designed a fantastic Georgia paycheck calculator along with a comprehensive guide that would help you to know what will you earn after moving to the peach state.

Georgia Tax Facts:

  • The Federal minimum wage rate is $7.25, whereas State Minimum Wage rate by Georgia is $5.15. However, there is no provision by the state for the Cash Minimum wage for tipped employees.
  • Georgia State doesn't have any reciprocal agreement with another state across the US.
  • Residents of Georgia State are charged with:
    • Federal Income Tax – Range between 0% to a top marginal rate of 37%, with seven tax brackets depending on filing status and income.
    • State Income Tax – Range between 1% - 6%, with six tax brackets depending on income and filing status.
    • Local Income Tax – No city or county in Georgia has a local income tax.
  • Apart from income tax, employees and employers are also subjected to other payroll taxes, including FICA tax, FUTA tax, and State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Tax.
  • Supplemental wages /bonuses are charged on a different rate by the state with different tax brackets than the salaries.
  • According to the United States Census Bureau, the average household income for the residents of Georgia is $52,977 (as in 2019).
  • Georgia State doesn't have any overtime law. Therefore, employers and employees follow FLSA law for Overtime.
  • Permanently disabled taxpayers, as well as those with the age of 62 to 64, can exclude up to $35,000 of their retirement income from taxable income for state income tax. Moreover, taxpayers of age 65 or above are given further advantages of $65,000 as tax-free income.
  • Georgian Residents earning and paying taxes to other states are allowed to receive a tax credit.

How to calculate Take-Home Pay in Georgia?

To calculate Take Home Pay or Paycheck, you need to go through several steps that include calculation of Gross Pay, Pre-Tax Deductions, Federal Taxes, State Taxes, Post Tax Deductions, Local Tax, etc.

To make it easy for you, we have divided this guide into steps, which would give a general idea. However, there may be some differences or additional taxes that you may be subjected to, according to your situation. As it's a comprehensive guide, we can only discuss general aspects.

Step 1 - Calculating Gross Pay:

  1. To calculate Gross Pay, first, you need to determine the Pay Type of an employee. It is whether an employee is paid on an hourly basis or salary basis.

Hourly Employees:

Hourly Base Employees are paid for each hour they work in a day or a week, at the mutually agreed hourly rate. However, the mutually agreed hourly rate must be as per the Federal and State Minimum Wage law.

Hourly Employees are also entitled to receive overtime, for each excess hours worked after Regular worked hours in a day or week. The overtime rate in most of the states is one and a half times the regular hourly rate.


Salaried Employees:

Salaried employees receive a fixed but mutually agreed on pay, for a decided pay frequency, usually semi-monthly or monthly. However, for gross payment determination for a pay period, the annual salary is divided by the pay frequency.

Most of the salaried employees are exempted from Overtime law. Therefore, they are not entitled to receive overtime, regardless of how many excess hours they work. However, some exceptional salaried employees may be eligible to receive overtime according to federal or state law.


  1. Remember, Supplementary Wages like bonuses, commissions, and paid leaves, as well as double time and fringe benefits, are also taxable wages. Therefore they must also be included in gross pay before federal and state tax calculation.

Step 2 – Subtracting Pre-Tax Deductions (If Any):

Pre-Tax Deduction is an amount deducted from employee's gross pay before any withholding tax is deducted. These deductions have several advantages, including the reduction of taxable wages. Hence, increasing the take-home pay of an employee. However, not all deductions can be considered as free from all taxes, which means some of the deductions may require certain taxes to be withheld.

Some of the standard Pre-tax deductions are:

  • Health Savings Accounts or FSA or HSA plans
  • Commuter Benefits
  • Healthcare Insurance
  • Short-Term Disability
  • Dental Insurance
  • Medical Expenses and Flexible Spending Accounts
  • Vision Benefits
  • Retirement funds like a traditional 401(k)

Note: Pre-Tax deduction rate changes from year to year, according to inflation and costs of living by the federal government. Therefore, you must keep yourself updated with all rates before making any deductions.


Step 3 – Calculate and Subtract Federal Taxes:

Federal Taxes are taxes deducted from almost every employee, regardless of which state or county they work in.

Federal Taxes are calculated according to the details provided by the employee on Form W-4, which comprises of income, filing status, number of dependents, number of allowances, number of jobs, etc.

The details are form W-4, are assessed and used by the employer to deduce the federal tax bracket, in which the employee's taxable wage lay upon.

Federal Taxes ranges from 0% to 37% have seven tax brackets, depending on filing status, income, and the number of allowances claimed. Below is the income tax details for the year 2019:

Single Filers
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $9,525 10.0%
$9,525 - $38,700 12.0%
$38,700 - $82,500 22.0%
$82,500 - $157,500 24.0%
$157,500 - $200,000 32.0%
$200,000 - $500,000 35.0%
$500,000+ 37.0%

Married, Filing Jointly
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $19,050 10.0%
$19,050 - $77,400 12.0%
$77,400 - $165,000 22.0%
$165,000 - $315,000 24.0%
$315,000 - $400,000 32.0%
$400,000 - $600,000 35.0%
$600,000+ 37.0%

Married, Filing Separately
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $9,525 10.0%
$9,525 - $38,700 12.0%
$38,700 - $82,500 22.0%
$82,500 - $157,500 24.0%
$157,500 - $200,000 32.0%
$200,000 - $500,000 35.0%
$500,000+ 37.0%

Head of Household
Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $13,600 10.0%
$13,600 - $51,800 12.0%
$51,800 - $82,500 22.0%
$82,500 - $157,500 24.0%
$157,500 - $200,000 32.0%
$200,000 - $500,000 35.0%
$500,000+ 37.0%


Step 4 – Deduct FICA Taxes:

Along with Federal Withholding, employers are also required to withhold Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) taxes from the employee's paycheck as well as pay a matching amount themselves to the IRS.

There are two types of FICA taxes:

  1. Social Security:

Employers are entitled to withhold 6.2% from the first $132,900 (wage base limit for 2019), taxable wages earned by the employee. Moreover, the employer is also required to pay an equal amount to the IRS for each employee.

  1. Medicare:

Medicare tax is another type of FICA Tax that an employer must withhold from the taxable gross wage of the employee, at the rate of 1.45%. Unlike social security, there is no wage base limit. However, if the employee earns more than the defined threshold than he/she is subjected to an additional 0.9% of the Additional Medicare Tax rate, for every dollar earned above the threshold amount.

Like Social Security, IRS also requires the employer to pay an equal amount of Medicare tax for each employee.


Step 5 – Payment of FUTA Taxes

The Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) is a tax that the IRS requires the employer to pay without deducting anything from the employee's paycheck.

The FUTA Tax rate for 2019 is 6.0% of the first taxable wage up to $7000 of an employee. However, once the taxable wage limit is crossed for a particular employee, then the employer no longer has to pay this tax.

What to reduce FUTA Tax?

Yes! Then you must pay State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) tax in full and on time and get a FUTA tax credit of up to 5.4%. Which means, you saved a whopping 90% from FUTA Tax.


Step 6 – Subtract Post-Tax Deductions (If any):

Although, employers are not required to withhold any amount as a post-tax deduction, unless if an employee voluntarily asks to do so. However, there are some deductions ordered by the court like child support or wage garnishment, which the employer is entitled to deduct.


Step 7 – Withhold Georgia State Payroll Taxes:

Besides Federal Income tax and Federal Payroll taxes, the residents of Georgia are also subjected to Georgia State Payroll Taxes.

The State follows the progressive income tax system, having six tax brackets that range from 1% up to 6%, depending on the income and filing status of the employee.

These taxes are to be withheld by the employer from the employee's paycheck, according to the information provided by the employee in Form G-4, at the time of joining the job.

Single Filers
Georgia Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $750 1.00%
$750 - $2,250 2.00%
$2,250 - $3,750 3.00%
$3,750 - $5,250 4.00%
$5,250 - $7,000 5.00%
$7,000+ 6.00%

Married, Filing Jointly
Georgia Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $1,000 1.00%
$1,000 - $3,000 2.00%
$3,000 - $5,000 3.00%
$5,000 - $7,000 4.00%
$7,000 - $10,000 5.00%
$10,000+ 6.00%

Married, Filing Separately
Georgia Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $750 1.00%
$750 - $2,250 2.00%
$2,250 - $3,750 3.00%
$3,750 - $5,250 4.00%
$5,250 - $7,000 5.00%
$7,000+ 6.00%

Head of Household
Georgia Taxable Income Rate
$0 - $1,000 1.00%
$1,000 - $3,000 2.00%
$3,000 - $5,000 3.00%
$5,000 - $7,000 4.00%
$7,000 - $10,000 5.00%
$10,000+ 6.00%

Supplemental Wages:

Supplemental Wages are the additional wages paid to the employees along with regular wages. Supplemental wages include overtime pay, bonuses, commissions, sick leaves, severance pay, etc., that are taxed on separately with a different rate in Georgia. These rates are as follow:

Annual Gross Income Tax Rate
Less than $8000 2%
$8000 to $10000 3%
$10000 to $12000 4%
$12000 to $15000 5%
More than $15000 5.75%

Step 8 – Withhold Local Tax:

No City or County of Georgia charges any Local Income Tax on its residents.


Step 9 – Pay State Unemployment Tax (SUI):

Like FUTA tax by IRS, Georgia State also entitles the employer to pay SUI Tax. However, it doesn't charge any State Disability Insurance Tax.

The employer must only pay this tax. This tax has a wage base of $9500 (2019) and ranges from 0.04% to 8.10%. However, the new employers get a little relief, as they only have to pay a flat rate of 2.7%. These rates include the administrative assessment rate of 0.06%.


Note: As we have stated earlier, that paying SUI taxes in full and on time, can get the employer, a FUTA tax credit of up to 5.4%, that an employer should avail.


Step 10 – Calculate Pay Check:

Once you are done with all elements (steps) discussed earlier, you will have a net pay amount for each employee. Now all you have to do is pay employees on time. Also, to file all Federal Taxes, State Taxes, FICA, and FUTA taxes on time, to avoid any penalties.


What factors affect your Paycheck?

Worried about your lower than expected paycheck amount? Then you must request your employer to give you complete details about what is deducted from the paycheck. Moreover, the following are also some the factors that could also increase or decrease your take-home pay:

  • The number of Allowances claimed from federal and state tax can have a significant impact on your paycheck amount. If the employee claims lower allowances, then his paycheck would decrease, and if he claims more allowances, then his paycheck amount would increase. However, claiming extra allowances can cause your trouble and penalty by the IRS, and a lower allowance claim is like lending your money to the government without any visible benefit. Therefore, employees must maintain a reasonable balance and choose the right number of allowances to enjoy maximum benefit.
  • Adjusting your Pre-Tax contribution like a health savings account (HSA), FSA, and commuter benefits program, have a significant impact on your taxable income. If you contribute more than you have to pay less in taxes, hence, you can use the contribution money after retirement or for medical expenses. However, more contributed would also lower your take-home pay amount. Therefore, if you foresee any medical expenses, then you are suggested to increase your contributions. But if you require money in cash, then you are advised to temporarily suspend your pre-tax contributions to increase your paycheck amount and fulfill your needs cash needs.
  • Try negotiating with your employer or start performing better and achieve the employer's provided targets to earn more bonuses, commissions, and pay appraisals. Moreover, you can also work extra hours to do overtime. Such supplementary wages can help you increase your take-home pay up to a great extent.
  • If you think your skills have a market, and you can get a better job with higher pay and benefits than go for it to increase your paycheck amount.
  • Lowering your taxable income can also increase your take-home pay. Wherefore, consider standard or itemized deductions carefully. Moreover, keep yourself updated with all payroll laws and look for exemptions, as you may be eligible for some exemptions under the federal or state law, hence, lowering your payroll taxes and increasing your take-home pay.

Federal and Georgia State Payroll Laws:

  • Georgia State requires the employer to pay their un-exempted employees, at least twice a month. However, employees of turpentine, farming, and sawmill industries are exempted from this law. Moreover, this pay frequency law doesn't apply to superintendents, officials, or other heads or subheads of departments on salary bases, can be paid on monthly or annual pay frequency.
  • The minimum wage for Georgia is $5.15, which is less than the federal minimum wage of $7.25. Therefore, employers are entitled to pay what benefits the most to the employee, which in the case of Georgia, is $7.25. However, Georgia's minimum wage law doesn't apply to those exempted in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
  • There is no provision in Georgia State Law for Cash Minimum Wage rate for tipped employees.
  • Georgia State doesn't regulate overtime. Therefore, employers must follow FLSA law and pay non-exempted employees, the overtime with time and half of the regular hourly rate for each excess hour worked after 40 hours in a workweek.
  • Neither Georgia nor federal law entitles the employers to offer paid leave to their employees, unless if the employer and employee meet the specified criteria where the employee requires a medical or family leave, military leave, Military Family leave, jury duty or voting.
  • Georgia State doesn't entitle the employer to provide lunch or rest breaks; however, if the employers are willing to do so, then it must be paid.

FAQs

Answer: Following are the payroll taxes, that an employee and employer need to pay:

  1. Federal Income Tax; having seven tax brackets, ranging from 0% to 37%, and is paid by the employee.
  2. FICA Tax; Comprises of Social Security Tax (6.2% paid by employee + 6.2% paid by the employer) and Medicare Tax (1.45% paid by employee + 1.45% paid by the employer)
  3. FUTA Tax; Paid only by the employer at the rate of 0% of the first taxable wage up to $7000 of an employee.
  4. State Income Tax; having six tax brackets, ranging from 0% to 6% and paid by the employee.
  5. SUI Tax; Paid by employer, ranges from 0.04% to 8.10% on a wage base of $9500.

Answer: Following Taxes are deducted from employee's paycheck by the employee for the federal and state authorities:

  1. Federal Income Tax: It is charged at a progressive income tax rate, ranging from 0% to 37% with seven tax brackets depending on filing status and income.
  2. FICA Tax: This tax includes 6.2% of Social Security Tax and 1.45% of Medicare Tax, in addition to the Additional Medicare Tax of 0.9% is charged if annual income crossed the defined threshold amount.
  3. State Income Tax: It is charged at a progressive income tax rate, ranging from 0% to 6% with six tax brackets depending on filing status and income.

Answer: GA Withholding is an amount withheld by the employer from the employee's paycheck and pay it directly to the State. Yes, Georgia – GA have a withholding income tax, with a progressive income tax rate of 0% to 6%, having six tax brackets:

For "Single" and "Married but Filing Separately":

  • 1% on the first $750 of income (taxable)
  • 2% on income (taxable) between $751 and $2,250
  • 3% on income (taxable) between $2,251 and $3,750
  • 4% on income (taxable) between $3,751 and $5,250
  • 5% on income (taxable) between $5,251 and $7,000
  • 6% on income (taxable) exceeding $7,000

For "Head of Households" and "Married filing jointly"

  • 1% on the first $1000 of income (taxable)
  • 2% on income (taxable) between $1,000 and $3,000
  • 3% on income (taxable) between $3,000 and $5,000
  • 4% on income (taxable) between $5,000 and $7,000
  • 5% on income (taxable) between $7,000 and $10,000
  • 6% on income (taxable) exceeding $10,000

Answer: Yes, Severance Pay received by a resident of Georgia is taxable.

Answer: No, any city of Georgia doesn't require the employer to withhold local income tax from the employee's paycheck.

Answer: Following are some of the incomes that are not taxable in Georgia:

  1. A retirement income of those with age 62 to 64, can exclude up to $35,000 from the taxable gross wage.
  2. A retirement income of those with age 65 above, can exclude up to $65,000 from the taxable gross wage.
  3. Income by Permanently Disabled person can exclude up to $35,000 from the taxable gross wage.
  4. Social Security retirement benefits
  5. Railroad Retirement Income
  6. A traditional IRA to a Roth IRA

Answer: You are only exempted from Georgia State Withholding if tax liability from all sources, in last year, was zero.

Answer: Georgia State hasn't regulated the time for pay after termination. Therefore, employers must follow the FLSA law and clear the employee's dues by the last day of the previous pay period.

Answer: The livable wage for an hourly employee living and working in Georgia Is $12.

Answer: Based on a Livable wage rate of $12 in Georgia, the good yearly salary is anything more than $24960 of Yearly Salary.

Answer: According to the report, Livable wage in Atlanta, Georgia, is as following:

  1. $13.27 for Single Adult with no children
  2. $24.90 for Single Adult with 1 Child
  3. $19.95 for Married Couple (one working) with no children
  4. $23.78 for Married Couple (one working) with 1 child
  5. $9.89 for Married Couple (both working) with no children
  6. $13.59 for Married Couple (one working) with 1 child

Answer: The Average income in Atlanta, Georgia, is $57,597.

Answer: The Minimum Wage in Atlanta and the rest of Georgia is $5.15, which is less than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. Therefore, employers must pay the rate that is more beneficial to the employee.

Other States Calcutors