Sales Tax and Reverse Sales Tax Calculator Florida

FLORIDA [Multidirectional Calculator]
$
%
  • 6%
  • 6.5%
  • 7%
  • 7.5%
  • 8%
  • 8.5%
$
$
  • Amount Before Tax ${{amountBeforeTax}}
  • Sales Tax Rate {{SalesTaxRate}}%
  • Amount Of Taxes ${{AmountOfTaxes}}
  • Amount After Taxes ${{AmountAfterTaxes}}



Florida – FL Sales Tax Calculator: User Guide

Florida is a state located in the Southeastern most region of the United States. This Sunshine State attracts new residents from far and wide every year due to its flourishing economy and plenty of job and business possibilities.

So you are planning to expand or relocate your business to Florida or starting with the new one, then guide could be your game changer. Our experts have designed a comprehensive Florida Sales Tax Guide along with Florida Sales Tax calculator to give you a one-stop solution for all your sales tax problems.

So let's get started!

Florida Sales Tax Facts:

  • Florida State levies 6.0% of sales tax on State level. Moreover, some counties in the state also levy local sales tax with a rate ranging between 0% and 2.5%.
  • No city and/or municipalities levies sales tax in Florida.
  • Prescription drugs and groceries are exempted from Sales Tax.
  • Florida's Sales Tax rate is higher than 55.8% of the US states.
  • Brandon, Florida, is among the cities which charge the highest combined sales tax rate of 8.5%.
  • Rental of material goods, rental of houses/apartments, admissions fees, and certain services such as pest control and cleaning, as well as most material purchases are charged with Sales Tax in Florida.
  • In addition to the Florida sales tax, a "discretionary sales surtax" may levy on all purchases up to $5,000 in their jurisdiction by the counties and cities of Florida.
  • Some counties may also collect an additional 6% of "tourist development tax" on seasonal (6 months or less) accommodation rentals (including condominiums, hotels, timeshares, etc.)
  • Florida State has a couple of Sales Tax holidays every year like "Back-to-School Sales Tax Holiday" and "Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday," where qualifying items are exempted from sales tax for a defined time period.
  • Individuals and companies are exempted from Florida Sales tax if they are purchasing goods for resale, improvement, or as raw materials.
  • The purchaser is required to pay Florida Use Tax if he/she buys goods and isn't charged with Florida Sales Tax by the retailer, such as with online and out-of-state purchases.

How to calculate Sales Tax in Florida?

Businesses and Sellers who have Nexus in Florida collect sales tax on tangible personal property or goods (including leases, licenses, and rentals). They are required to collect, manage, and transfers it to the Florida Department of Revenue (FDR) while staying in compliance with state laws and avoid penalties and interest.

The sales tax determined on three factors:

  1. Nexus: It is having a significant connection of business with a state. The business is only liable to pay taxes to the states with Nexus.
  2. Location and Products or Services: The sales tax rate varies from product to product and location to location, so you must check the sales tax rate applicable to your product according to the product category, county, and city in Florida.
  3. Exemptions: Almost all goods are eligible for sales tax regulation. However, products, including groceries, prescription medicine, and few more are exempted under Florida Law. So you should check with Florida state government as to which goods and services sold in Florida are subject to sales tax.

To calculate Sales Tax in Florida, follow the steps below:

Step 1 – Determine your Nexus:

You, as a Business owner, are only required to collect sales tax if you have Sales Tax Nexus in the Florida State. And to determine your Nexus in Florida, you must have any of the following:

  • Owning property in that state
  • Rental or lease of personal property.
  • An employee present in the state.
  • Sending your representatives to solicit orders in that state.
  • Providing repair or alteration services in that state.

Step 2 – Determine the Sales Tax Rate:

Once you have determined that your Nexus is with Florida, next is to deduce the Sales Tax rate (State + Local Sales Tax) applicable on your product, for which you can refer the tables below:


Florida Sales Tax Rates by Location:

The state-wide Sales Tax rate in Florida is 6. Besides, many counties levy additional local sales tax on tangible personal property and certain services. Following are the Sales Tax rate on State, County, and city level in Florida:

Sales Tax Rates(Updated January 2020)
County State Rate County Total Sales Tax
Alachua 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Baker 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Bay 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Bradford 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Brevard 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Broward 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Calhoun 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Charlotte 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Citrus 6.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Clay 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Collier 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Columbia 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
DeSoto 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Dixie 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Duval 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Escambia 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Flagler 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Franklin 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Gadsden 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Gilchrist 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Glades 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Gulf 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Hamilton 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Hardee 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Hendry 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Hernando 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Highlands 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Hillsborough 6.00% 2.50% 8.50%
Holmes 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Indian River 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Jackson 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Jefferson 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Lafayette 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Lake 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Lee 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Leon 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Levy 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Liberty 6.00% 2.00% 8.00%
Madison 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Manatee 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Marion 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Martin 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Miami-Dade 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Monroe 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Nassau 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Okaloosa 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Okeechobee 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Orange 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Osceola 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%
Palm Beach 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Pasco 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Pinellas 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Polk 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Putnam 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Santa Rosa 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Sarasota 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Seminole 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
St. Johns 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
St. Lucie 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Sumter 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Suwannee 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Taylor 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Union 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Volusia 6.00% 0.50% 6.50%
Wakulla 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Walton 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Washington 6.00% 1.50% 7.50%

Step 3 – Calculate Sales Tax:

After the determination of the Sales Tax rate according to the location and type of purchases, it is easy to calculate the sales tax amount charged on the product and gross price (amount after tax) of a product.


Example # 1:

For instance, you are selling a chair on your store in Oakland, Florida, having a net price tag of $30. The amount that a buyer has to pay (including sales tax) on a check out would be:


Manual Method:

Net Price (amount before Tax) of a Chair: $30

Total Sales Tax rate: 0% (Oakland) + 0.50% (Orange County) + 6.0% (Florida State) = 6.50%


Total Sales Tax amount = $30 x 6.50% = $1.95

Gross Price (Amount after Tax) = 30 + 1.95 = $31.95


It means the amount the buyer has to pay for a Chair on a cash counter would be $31.95.


Using our Sales Tax Calculator:

All of the steps mentioned above can be skipped to get an instant result using our Sales Tax Calculator. All you need is:

  1. Input the $30 Net Price of a Chair as Amount Before Tax
  2. Input or select 50% of the combined Sales Tax rate on the Tax Rate menu.

Our calculator will automatically calculate the result, and represents it in 3 different forms, as shown in the image below:

florida-sales-tax-calculator

Reverse Sales Tax Calculation

In the example above, we have explained to you to calculate the Sales Tax amount payable in a product, and the Gross Price of the Product.

But there are also instances when you are required to deduce how much sales tax buyer has actually paid on a product or you may want to check the accuracy of the sales tax indicated on your item's receipt.

This is where the Reverse Sales Tax Calculation Kicks in. And luckily, our Florida Sales Tax Calculator can perform this calculation like a Pro.


Example:

Your buyer has paid $100 for a Table at your store in Oakridge, Florida. Now the buyer is inquiring how much the Table actually cost before the sales tax was added. So you need to follow the steps below to determine the amount before tax (net price) of a Table:

Gross Price (Amount after Tax) of Table: $100

Total Sales Tax rate: 0.0% (Oakridge) + 2.50% (Hillsborough County) + 6.0% (Florida State) = 8.50%


Manual Method:

Gross Price with sales tax = [Net Price × (tax rate in decimal form + 1)]

100 = [Net Price x ((8.50/100) + 1)]

100 = Net Price x 1.09

$91.7 = Net Price


So the original Price (net price) of the Table was $91.7.

Using our Sales Tax Calculator:

You can also use our Sales Tax Calculator for Reverse Sales Tax calculation to skip the above mentioned manual method. All you need is:

  1. Input the $100 Gross Price of Table as Amount after Tax
  2. Input or select 8.50% of combined Sales Tax Rate on the Tax Rate

Our calculator will automatically calculate the result and represents it in 3 different forms.

Also Check: Florida Paycheck Calculator to Calculate your Paycheck in Florida State including all taxes and take home pay.

FAQs

Answer: Florida State levies 6.0% of sales tax on State level. Moreover, some counties in the state also levy local sales tax with a rate ranging between 0% and 2.5%.

Answer: Groceries and Prescription Drugs are exempted from sales tax in Florida.

Answer: 8.5% is the highest possible combined sales tax charged in Florida.

Answer: Florida State only charges sales tax on labor if parts are used in the service work.

Answer: Hillsborough County in Florida has the highest sales tax rate of 2.5%.

Other States Calcutors